Created in 1983, the Legend of Honor award is presented annually, in conjunction with the American Ski Classic, to recognize an outstanding individual or group that has had a profound impact on the sport of skiing and ski racing throughout the course of their career, both on and off the racecourse.  Each year’s Legend of Honor is nominated and selected by a panel of Vail Valley ski enthusiasts, including key leadership representing the Vail Valley Foundation and Vail Resorts, with the recipient being inducted into the International Ski Racing Hall of Fame during the Legends Banquet.

The inaugural Legend of Honor award was presented to France’s Emile Allais in 1984 and the trophy has been awarded annually since.

Emile Allais

Birger Ruud

Dick Durrance

Gretchen Fraser

Anton “Toni” Seelos

Stein Eriksen

Karl Molitor

The Werner Family

Andrea Mead Lawrence

Christl Cranz

Christian Pravda

Tom Corcoran

Barney McLean

Anderl Molterer

Nancy Greene-Raine

Pepi Gramshammer

Marielle Goitschel

Christine Goitschel

Toni Sailer

Billy Kidd

Jimmie Heuga

Gustavo Thoeni

Bob Beattie

Bernhard Russi

Rosi Mittermaier-Neureuther

President Gerald Ford & Family

Franz Klammer

Cindy Nelson

The Crazy Canucks:

Ken Read

Steve Podborski

Dave Murray

Dave Irwin

Phil Mahre & Steve Mahre

Marc Girardelli

Tamara McKinney

Annemarie Moser-Proell

Lasse Kjus

Kjetil Andre Aamodt

Harry Frampton